Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Opinions on the Bernina Artista 200E

  1. #1
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    I went to my fabric sale today and came home with a trial run on a used Bernina 200E with a stitch regulator and the embroidery module. So...they tell me that it is actually upgraded to be the 730E. They have it for $3600. Do any of you have any experience with this machine, what do you think of it and does anyone think it is worth the price? Thanks so much.

    Patti

  2. #2
    Super Member bebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    3,068
    Sandpat,
    I do not have that particular machine. I have one my grandparents gave me over 15 years ago and still working. No problems at all. It last a long time.

    Check out this link:
    http://quilting.about.com/od/sewingmachines/Quiltmaking_Equipment.htm

  3. #3
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    Thanks Bebe...thanks for the site. I just soooo confused and would like to hear from some other quilters. Hopefully, I will.

  4. #4
    Super Member Dodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    1,342
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have the bernina 440QE and it is a wonderful machine more than I will ever use but I love the stitch regulator and if you do any free motion quilting it is great also the stiches from straight to the decorative are next to perfect my advise is just buy the very best machine that you can afford
    you will use it

  5. #5
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,596
    I have the 640E and love it! It's really easy to learn and uses a USB stick to get my designs from my pc to the machine or I can use the USB cable it came with.

    Once you learn it you will love it. You can't go wrong with a Bernina in my opinion.

  6. #6
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    Thanks for your opinions. I've been sewing on it last night and all day today...I'm afraid I'm falling in love :oops:

  7. #7
    Super Member ScubaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Puget Sound, Wa. State
    Posts
    2,102
    ....ahhh....Faling in love with a machine... ain't love grand...
    I have a new Brother Duetta (gotta great price) but I would love to have a Husk/Vik Diamond but I don't sew enough for a 8000.00$ machine. Wish I did!
    Love my machine though. For me it works great!
    Good Luck and happy sewing.
    K

  8. #8
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,477
    I have a Bernina 630e machine and I love it. I contemplated the 730 but wasn't sure if I would like having the wider feed dogs for all the 1/4 in seams. I've heard some people complain about that who do mostly quilting. I do like the idea of wider specialty stitches and such though..... Try it out with piecing to see if you like how it feeds.

  9. #9
    Senior Member bodie358's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    406
    Try this site for machine reviews: http://sewing.patternreview.com/

  10. #10
    hdqltr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Menomonee Falls, WI
    Posts
    40
    I have a Bernina 200E which is about 6 years old (I think!). Anyway, this is an excellent price for it, as I paid over $7K for mine, new. I haven't had a lick of trouble with it, and it does all the things I need from general sewing to quilting and embroidery, and quilting/embroidery in combination. I did not upgrade to the stitch regulator, as I really do not have any problems quilting with it as is freemotion.

    I have a Bernina 930, which I believe is their last rotary hook machine, which is not computerized, etc. I just can't bear to sell it, as it carried me through a home sewing business with flying colors.

    I've enjoyed working with both of these very reliable Bernina machines. I just take the 200E in for an annual cleaning, and that's it. :D

    Nancy
    Menomonee Falls WI

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.