Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Opinions on Brother PC-8200 machine please!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    127

    Opinions on Brother PC-8200 machine please!

    Hi

    I have the opportunity to buy a Brother PC-8200. It is about 10 years old but appears to be well cared for. I would love to hear any and all thoughts/opinions, pros/cons, etc. about this machine.

    Thanks
    Nancy

  2. #2
    Senior Member fixfido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    875
    I really like mine. Does beautiful embroidery.
    Life has given me so much more than scraps, but I make quilts anyway!
    http://www.wickedcool.etsy.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    127
    Thanks - that's good to know. I notice the machine that I'm going to see has PE design ver 4.0 for Windows 95/98 or later. My computer isn't new and runs XP. Is there going to be a need to upgrade the software on the Brother? LOL - clearly, I have no idea about computerized machines.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Ginaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Richmond, KY
    Posts
    455
    I'm pretty sure they stopped making this machine a lot longer than 10 years ago--I had an 8500, and I bought it in 1998. It was the model after the 8200. Not to take from the machine, they are great sewing and embroidery machines--I just wanted to let you know it is quite a bit older than 10 years.
    Regina in Richmond, KY

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    127
    Thanks, Regina. It probably is older - the seller was a little vague about when she bought it. The more I think about it, the less I think it is the machine for me. If the electronics go on it, it probably isn't worth the $ to repair (assuming parts would even be available now).

  6. #6
    Super Member nstitches4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    3,327
    I haven't had that model, but I have had several Brother sewing/embroidery machines and I loved them.

  7. #7
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,175
    Blog Entries
    1
    I LOVE my 2 Brother machines also!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    Posts
    30

    Pe 8200

    Just a caution : I had to buy a 700II because the touch screen was failing to respond and I was told they are not making the motherboard for these anymore. It is still my favorite machine for embroidery!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    127
    Tammy - You've just confirmed one of my biggest concerns. It might be great for a little while or a long while but I could find myself with a rather expensive boat anchor! I did see it today and it made a lovely stitch. I was sorely tempted but know that I probably wouldn't use it enough to justify the purchase.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.