Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Opinions - looking for new machine (embroidery)

  1. #1
    Junior Member Karenowc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    293
    I'm looking at the following machines

    Bernina, BabyLock and Viking.

    I want to do more embroidery so starting to look. Would love to hear what machine you have and what you love/hate about it.

    I own a Janome 6600 that I will keep and a Bernina 180E that I will trade in or sell. So the new machine will replace the Bernina.

    Edited to add:
    My goal in getting the new machine is to use more embroidery and make it easier. My Bernina was top of the line when purchased, but I know they can do so much more now.

    I'm going to be sewing for 2 darling little grand daughters and their dolls, and would love to do towels and home dec. Of course, I'm a quilter so I will be making labels and would like to do some "quilting" on there. Hoop size is important - small to large is needed. Possibly the border options.

    Looking forward to your suggestions. By the way, I'm seriously looking at the original Ellismo. My dealer has a floor model at a reduced price that he is holding for me.

  2. #2
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,723
    People love the Babylock Ellisimo, they just came out with a new one

  3. #3
    Super Member scowlkat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,533
    Blog Entries
    11
    I have had Janome, experience with both Brother and the Viking Diamond (wouldn't have one if they paid ME!) and now own the Babylock Ellisimo. It is absolutely the easiest, most incredible machine I've ever experienced.

  4. #4
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,237
    Blog Entries
    2
    YOu are going to get a different opinion from everyone who posts!! I have a Viking Diamond and LOVE it! :-)

    Maybe if you listed more specifics on what you want, like hoop size or screen size etc. you would get more objective responses.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Karenowc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by PaperPrincess
    YOu are going to get a different opinion from everyone who posts!! I have a Viking Diamond and LOVE it! :-)

    Maybe if you listed more specifics on what you want, like hoop size or screen size etc. you would get more objective responses.
    So true, I figured I might though, and I'm ok with it.
    I will, though, put in a little more description in my original post.
    Thank you. :)

  6. #6
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,237
    Blog Entries
    2
    If you want to do border quilting, ask the Viking dealer to show you the Endless Hoop. You leave the hoop on the machine and advance the fabric, giving you a continuous design.
    I have purchased used machines from dealers in the past. Usually an excellent price, warranty and lessons, so the demo machine may be for you.
    Also a good dealer, no matter what brand, is worth their weight in gold, so maybe which ever dealer you have the best rapport with.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    63
    i just got a brother a few months ago and it is wonderful. I asked a friend in the business what she used so I got the same one it was a brother innovis 1250 D

    julia

  8. #8
    Super Member Maggiesmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    2,017
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have had two brother machines and I loved the first one so much I upgraded to the Quatro which is basically the same as the Ellisimo since they are both made by the same company. They are very user friendly machines.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ft. Myers, Florida
    Posts
    1,034
    Quote Originally Posted by PaperPrincess
    YOu are going to get a different opinion from everyone who posts!! I have a Viking Diamond and LOVE it! :-)

    Maybe if you listed more specifics on what you want, like hoop size or screen size etc. you would get more objective responses.
    I too love the vikings, and mine are "ONLY" the D1 and SE wouldn't trade either one of them for any other brand. JMHO

  10. #10
    Super Member fidgety's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Iowa transplant to Va
    Posts
    1,772
    Blog Entries
    1
    yet another opinion... I Love my Bernina... 440 Qe and a 200/ 730 that is still up for sale...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.