Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 3 4
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Opinions on newer fabric designs

  1. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    71
    I do like the modern quilt style. Hey it's less intricate - goes faster. But whoever decided that lime green, aqua and coral were Christmas colors? On the other hand, years ago I made Bob Coons Poinsetia Basket quilt, only I used shades of pink for the flowers. Spent two years looking for a pink poinsetia fabric to use for a border and ended up settling for a solid. Walked into JoAnn's a couple of days ago and there was the perfect fabric. What goes around comes around - except for maybe those avocado appliances - they can stay gone a lot longer.

  2. #32
    Super Member Dodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    1,197
    Blog Entries
    1
    I to like Kansas Troubles just can't get into these large prints they are not made for cutting small

  3. #33
    Power Poster Mariposa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SE Washington
    Posts
    19,763
    JMHO here- I also find the newer fabrics not to my liking. Mostly because of the "off" colors. The big prints, stripes, etc. have their places, but some prints are well...... I tend not to be a minimalist, and am working on the idea of the plain modern designs. They can be fun to do, as they are perhaps simpler, but I'd use other fabrics than a bunch of solids.
    And here again, we all have different likes and tastes, and here on the board I am able to see others' creations and choices, and expand my horizons.
    Thanks for sharing, everyone!
    Be a blessing to others, as you may entertain angels unaware!

  4. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sonoma County, California
    Posts
    132
    I love all the new fabrics. I've sewn for almost 45 years but avoided quilting because I didn't like the tarditional fabrics and nature of teh patterns. I'm 53 and just started quilting in April. I have made 15 quilts since then and will be teaching at my LQS - the one that sells the new designer type fabrics - in the new year. I know I wouldn't be a quilter if the new fabrics hadn't come out.

  5. #35
    Senior Member maxnme01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Victorville, Ca.
    Posts
    449
    I find the newer designs in fabric reminds me too much of the 70's and I've done that, been there. I agree that an entire quilt made with these "busy" prints is overwhelming. I steer clear of them as they are way to busy and odd color combinations for me. I really dislike Kaffe Fassett. Just my humble opinion. Guess I'm too much of a traditionalist.
    Keep smiling, it makes others wonder what you're up to!

  6. #36
    Super Member earthwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    8,924
    Well said Jan. I have really eclectic taste...I will buy anything from vintage right through to the latest designs..anything really....calico's, tribal, William Morris and the incredible Kaffe Fassett and the new designers too. Sometimes I even mix 'em. When I create quilts or sewn items for family and friends, I try my best to use fabrics and materials that suit their particular lifestyle/taste....Variety is the spice of life and it pushes me to try new techniques and think creatively...which has to be a good thing.

  7. #37
    Super Member AZ Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,082
    Ok, I had to jump in here!! I do tend to make more traditional quilts with more traditional colors than not. My SIL is visiting and brought 3 quilts to work on while she is here. Turned my whole living/dining room into a quilt sweatshop, LOL. I was just teasing her yesterday of 3 quilts, all 3 have lime green, regardless if it goes with the quilt or not. Of course, that is my opinion but she truly loves all 3!!
    Better to do something imperfectly, than nothing perfectly.
    Done is better than perfect.

  8. #38
    Senior Member Nonna Judi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    510
    Blog Entries
    2
    I am tending to stay away from many of the newer, more modern fabrics. Many are soooo busy and don't really blend well with other fabrics or sometimes they don't even blend well with other fabrics of the same line, as they are all so busy. I tend to lean to the more traditional look in fabrics as well as in the quilt blocks I like to use. I guess I am just an old fashioned girl. I seek balance not "busy" in my quilts. Thats my story and I'm sticking to it! Good thread!
    Judi from Denver, aka Nonna Judi

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.