Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: Opinions on newer fabric designs

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,017

    Opinions on newer fabric designs

    What do you think of the new fabric designs. One series from one designer is all directional stripes. How are yu using the larger prints. Many don't appear to be coordinated designs (large medium, small, backgrounds) that we are accustomed to using.

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    32,382
    Blog Entries
    15
    i tend not to buy coordinated fabrics... i just pick and choose what is pleasing to me. this is one reason that i don't buy bundled fabric.
    Nancy in western NY

  3. #3
    Super Member nhweaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Delmarva Peninsula
    Posts
    1,168
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am having a hard time with the new fabrics, the colors don't seem "true", but that will help keep me on the fabric moratorium.
    If life gives you lemons, make a margarita.

  4. #4
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    18,927
    I think the new fabric lines are designed to make you buy the whole collection because that don't go with anything ELSE. That is just my opinion of course. Do I like them? I do like some of them but to buy a whole collection of enough fabric to make a quilt is beyond what I am comfortable spending on a quilt top.

  5. #5
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    23,822
    I only buy what I like and I have lots of that. I have no need to buy any more fabrics for quiet a while. If people don't like and don't buy it, it will go away.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  6. #6
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,097
    What I dont like is how they make quilts that are so busy that you cant see the design. No background fabric just prints and they all blend in togather. Ive seen this in several quilt mags.
    I like small prints and dislike orange fabric. Dont care much for very bright prints except for childrens quilts.
    Fall colors are my favorites.

  7. #7
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,797
    I am not a fan of the newer collections you speak of.. I typically like to work with smaller pieces for my quilts. It seems they are designing for large blocks for quickly done quilts, so you will finish and be back buying more fabric sooner.

  8. #8
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,609
    The larger designs have their uses, I suppose, for stack and whack type quilts, fussy cutting, etc. But there aren't a lot of fabrics out there that grab me anymore, either.....

  9. #9
    Super Member crafty pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Live Oak, Texas
    Posts
    4,581
    I don't like most of the collections, I like to find a fabric I like then find the matching fabrics I choose to go with it. I have not found to many new fabrics I like for quilts lately but some will make some cute bags.

  10. #10
    Senior Member texpat45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N Texas
    Posts
    534
    I agree with Rose Marie about the bright busy prints all in one quilt. Gives me a headache to look at those. But I do love the modern quilt movement and have embraced the new collections wholeheartedly. Even those bright busy prints can look fabulous with judicious use and plenty of solids!
    Pat from Texas

    "Learn from the mistakes of others. You can't live long enough to make them all yourself."

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.