Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Opinions please....

  1. #1
    Senior Member Woodster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    748

    Opinions please....

    I've had a thought that keeps bouncing around in my head, and would like to hear some opinions, for/against/who cares on it.

    How would you feel about shopping at a store that only had end-lots, or end-bolts, pre-cuts, at reduced
    prices? Sort of like a bargain corner stand-alone store?

    I haven't thought it out thoroughly and in detail, but it's one of those things that keeps popping into my head unannounced!

    Thanks for your ever-helpful opinions!

    Deb

  2. #2
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
    I've had a thought that keeps bouncing around in my head, and would like to hear some opinions, for/against/who cares on it.

    How would you feel about shopping at a store that only had end-lots, or end-bolts, pre-cuts, at reduced
    prices? Sort of like a bargain corner stand-alone store?

    I haven't thought it out thoroughly and in detail, but it's one of those things that keeps popping into my head unannounced!

    Thanks for your ever-helpful opinions!

    Deb

    if the cuts are usable sizes and decent material and cheap------------I'm in.

    but a store that sold only this and nothing more? Where would the inventory come from?
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  3. #3
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Most fabric stores have end of bolts and clearance fabric. I wouldn't buy precuts unless it had each fabric from the designer line. That's the main advantage of buying precuts. You have to be sure the precuts would not bleed, you don't pre wash pre cuts. If the fabric you will be selling is not good quality it doesn't matter how cheap it is and how cheap can you sell good quality that others aren't? If you can then you have a start of a great business.
    Got fabric?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Depending on the price I would be interested. I hate doing the cutting. However when I have purchased kits I never seem to have enough fabric. By the time I get to this point the store no longer has that fabric. So this could be a problem with this kind of store.

  5. #5
    Super Member grammy Dwynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,993
    Blog Entries
    2
    Are you 'thinking' of opening a store? IMHO, it would risky. It would be selling to a limited number of clientele.
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -Confucius

    https://picasaweb.google.com/home

  6. #6
    Senior Member GemState's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Northern Idaho
    Posts
    434
    For quilt backings, yes.

  7. #7
    Super Member willferg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern California, Sonoma Co.
    Posts
    1,850
    Check out this store:

    http://yourcaliforniafabric.com/

    I'd shop at the type of store you are describing!

  8. #8
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    8,516
    I had forgotten about this place.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Garland, Texas
    Posts
    1,395
    Interesting concept. Thanks for the link Willferg...did not know about this, now it's listed on my fave list. I personally like to mix and match my stuff because I'm still learning. I don't have the basics down enough to take on a 'dedicated' color designed quilt just yet.

  10. #10
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    15,300
    There are several Mill End Textiles stores in our area (southern Minnesota) - I think they started out with items like you mentioned (except for the pre-cuts).

    Now they are quite large and carry a range of fabrics.

    S. R. Harris is a large "outlet" fabric store located in a suburb northwest of Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    I would probably only be interested in stopping by to shop at a "big" store.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.