Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cinnaminson NJ
    Posts
    452
    Hi -

    I was hoping to get some opinions. I am about to make my first product to sell on etsy. I have included pictures of the stitching I'm thinking of using as my quilt stitch. Do you all think this would work well or have other opinions????

    Thank you so much !
    Nikki

    top of runner
    Name:  Attachment-273680.jpe
Views: 15
Size:  52.9 KB

    This will be the back of a reversible runner
    Name:  Attachment-273681.jpe
Views: 16
Size:  57.1 KB

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    32,882
    Blog Entries
    15
    sorry, i can't really tell what the stitch is in those pics

  3. #3
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    12,950
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would use the outline of the leaves instead OR the outline of the pumpkins.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cinnaminson NJ
    Posts
    452
    Thanks for the suggestion MadQuilter. I thought of that but am very nervous I'll screw up.

  5. #5
    Super Member starshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,659
    Quote Originally Posted by MadQuilter
    I would use the outline of the leaves instead OR the outline of the pumpkins.
    this is probably a good way to do it.
    I like your fabrics

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Posts
    375
    I'm in aggreement with outlining the leaves and/or pumpkins.

  7. #7
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cinnaminson NJ
    Posts
    452
    thank you all for your advice. Back to the drawing board. I am just not advanced enough to outline. Every time I try stitches skip. I may end up just meandering.

  8. #8
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cinnaminson NJ
    Posts
    452
    Any tips for outlining? Feed dogs up or down? quilting foot or straight stitch foot?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Posts
    375
    Not know the machine you are working on I would guess feed dogs down and quilting foot in place. Then practice on a scrap piece of fabric/batting/backing and then start out slow. Find the pace that works well for you and your machine. Have fun scattering leaves and pumpkins of all shapes over your scrap piece of fabric and then stipple in between. Free motion quilting can be so fun or agrrevating - as all things it takes practice. I have to say I did see your stitching which was nice but stepping out of a comfortable stitch to a more challenging one is what this passion of ours is all about. Let your artist side shine and have fun. Love your fabrics, fall is in the air.

  10. #10
    Senior Member nikki128's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cinnaminson NJ
    Posts
    452
    Covered in Threads .... thank you so much for your advice. I was just free motion quilting pumpkins and swirls over a scrap piece. I think I am going to go for that look. The outlining is to stressful. I am about to sandwich my runner and rock out going at my pace and being free. I will post pictures of the finished product.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.