Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 13 1 2 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 122

Thread: Opinions wanted ...help!!

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,975

    Question Opinions wanted ...help!!

    I have 26 of the 30 blocks for this quilt finished so I am posting 12 of them showing all 15 fabrics in the collection. These were 2 jelly rolls and a bundle of FQs I found last year at Tues Morning in clearance section- maybe the colors were too vivid for prior customers. Free Spirit April Showers Bring Sunflowers http://freespiritfabric.com/core-pag...php?gal_id=293


    I decided to whip out the Strip Tube Ruler and start cutting and make the Daniela Block following directions in the ruler packaging. Now the question - to sash or not to sash? All opinions and suggestions welcome... I pulled out Marcus Bros. White Lites but I also have Kona white.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Super Member mcdaniel023's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,376
    Blog Entries
    3
    I like those blocks! If you want to tame them then sash. But, I kinda like them without.
    Happy Quilting.

  3. #3
    Super Member Nanaquilts44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    1,994
    Personally I would sash the blocks. My eye needs the separation so I can enjoy each block and not get confused with it all at once.

  4. #4
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,210
    I would sash them for the same reason nanaquilts44 states, to give my eyes someplace to rest. But I think I would audition different colors besides white for the sashing. Maybe even a very dark sash, like black or navy blue might make them pop more.

  5. #5
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,718
    I would sash so that the swirly fabrics don't run into each other. Depending on what you're planning to use the quilt for, that would decide the color of the sashing. For a baby quilt I would use a light color and for an adult lap quilt I would use a dark color.

    Thanks for posting this - I just got a bunch of clearance jelly rolls at Tuesday Morning too and had been wondering what to do with them. I like your choice of blocks.
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  6. #6
    Jim
    Jim is offline
    Super Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Bardstown, Kentucky
    Posts
    2,139
    Love the colors and the pattern...Great Job, I too would add a sashing...any shade from bright blue to navy
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort :lol:

  7. #7
    Senior Member SharonTheriault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    601
    I think the white sashing takes away from the blocks. A dark sashing might work better. Personally I like it without the sashing. Quite the riot of color.
    Save the Earth!

    Itís the only planet with Chocolate.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    3,040
    I would sash with a blue that matches the brilliant dark blue in your squares. The white really turns me off.

  9. #9
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,493
    Love your blocks. I'd do the sashing in black (narrow) and use the scraps to make a prairie point edging at the border edges. It will play up the color and you have quite a bit of black in those scraps anyway. Please post when you're done - I'd love to see it finished!

  10. #10
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    5,967
    Me personally, I love it without the sashing.

Page 1 of 13 1 2 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.