Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Pattern idea needed please >

Pattern idea needed please

Pattern idea needed please

Old 09-13-2012, 05:08 PM

Default Pattern idea needed please

I am going to work on two twin size quilts for my grandsons. I am using my Mom's old dresses and such for this because she passed away in November.
Can someone please suggest an idea? I was thinking of just a strip quilt, what do you all think?
Thanks ahead of time.
Old 09-13-2012, 05:17 PM

Sorry for your loss. A strip quilt would be very nice or scrappy 4 patch.
Old 09-13-2012, 05:18 PM

My condolences. The boys will like hugs from their grandmother. A rail fence would arrange the strips in a pleasing manner without too much more work.
Old 09-13-2012, 05:30 PM

Originally Posted by irishrose View Post
My condolences. The boys will like hugs from their grandmother. A rail fence would arrange the strips in a pleasing manner without too much more work.
I am new to this, what is a rail fence? a scrappy four patch?
Thanks.

Thanks for all of your condolences. I had also lost my mother-in-law a week and a day before that. November has been a bad month for us altogether. In Nov. of 2008 our house caught fire and we had to move out the Sunday before Thanksgiving. For our Mom's, one before and one after Thanksgiving.
Old 09-13-2012, 06:10 PM

For a rail fence, you cut your fabric in strips or blocks. You may not have 42 in strips from clothing, so you can cut 2 1/2" by 81/2" rectangles. Sew them together in fours (If using strips, sew four together and cut into 8 1/2 blocks.) Press before cutting and square up the block after. Now lay our your blocks turning them as you go. Sew them together in rows, press, then sew the rows together.

Here's quilterscache's - she gives good directions. Note: Hers is three strips, mine was four - You can use 3, 4 or 5. The number used and the width of the strips determines how big you cut the blocks. You want it square, not rectangular.