Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
patterns with no seam allowance >

patterns with no seam allowance

patterns with no seam allowance

Old 08-18-2010, 12:21 PM

I am new to quilting and have found dozens of patterns that I would like to try, but they are just of the finished block. Do I need to take that apart and add my own seam allowance? How does that work?
Old 08-18-2010, 12:28 PM

Where are you finding the patterns you like? If they are the free patterns you find so often, they usually tell you if the seam allowance is included. But, if you like one that doesn"t say that, yes, you could cut it apart and make it to a size you would like. Just be sure you do add the 1/4 inch around all sides.
Old 08-18-2010, 12:42 PM

Thank you so much! I took a guess and was doing just that, then started to doubt myself. This is such a fun and exciting hobby to start, but I have a lot to learn. :D
Old 08-18-2010, 01:09 PM

Welcome to the board Wilpatricia ! You are going to have a ton of a fabric & projects in no time :)
Old 08-18-2010, 01:12 PM

I guess I haven't experienced any patterns that didn't have seam allowances included. You're not paper piecing are you?
Old 08-18-2010, 01:18 PM

Originally Posted by Rachel
I guess I haven't experienced any patterns that didn't have seam allowances included. You're not paper piecing are you?
A lot of the older quilting books and magazines don't include seam allowances on the template shapes. And I have a book, 501 Quilt Blocks, that is just pictures of the blocks. It allows them to have that many one one book. Sometimes it's a pain to make the little templates, but the variety makes up for it, for me.