Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
pet cats on quilts >

pet cats on quilts

pet cats on quilts

Old 06-23-2010, 08:03 PM

I am brand new to this message board, and as I am looking through and seeing profile pics, I see a lot of you have the same problem I do- what is it with our cats and having to be on a quilt? Every time I am working on a quilt, the next time I want to get it and work on it, i have to remove a cat from it. So i made them a quilted bed. None of my 6 cats will use it. they have to have an unfinished quilt to sleep on! Go figure!
Old 06-23-2010, 08:05 PM

Did you try sprinkling a little catnip on it? My cats sleep on anything new we bring in the house--not just quilts. They're so funny!
Old 06-23-2010, 08:13 PM
Power Poster

That's so typical, isn't it?? Just tonight I was trimming a quilt to prepare for binding and my big boy, Carmello WOULD NOT get off!!
They love all quilts, fabric, actually anything, like paper etc. Too funny!! :D
Old 06-23-2010, 08:31 PM

awww! your cat looks just like my daughter's cat here. he's orange and white with a ringed tail. she is 11 and she named him fireball.
Old 06-23-2010, 08:33 PM
Power Poster

It is a continual problem here. I sew around the cats. Take a look at my avatar.
Old 06-23-2010, 08:41 PM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by ohioquilter
awww! your cat looks just like my daughter's cat here. he's orange and white with a ringed tail. she is 11 and she named him fireball.
You mean my cat?? That's Katie, she is tiny and Carmello is her son. He weighs 20 pounds!!! She's around 7 :D
Old 06-23-2010, 08:57 PM

My cats climb up on the shelf I'd put up for the shoeboxes of scraps...they knock the boxes down, so now the boxes are on the floor. I had 2 other top shelves they've knocked things off of so they could lay down. The room from about 5' up is THEIRS! LOL Yes, I always have cats on the quilting. Try putting their quilt up as high as you can...maybe they'll take it over then!!!