Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Placement of applique - your opinion

  1. #1
    Super Member needles3thread's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    2,554

    Placement of applique - your opinion

    Please give me your opinion - should I move the applique flower on this quilt top? (maybe to the center)
    After having it almost in place, I don't want to start over, but I don't want to
    be sorry years from now. Other suggestions? This top is using fabric for the background
    tumbler that I have had for so long - I'm glad to be getting it used instead of lying around. But I
    thought it needed a little pizzaz, therefore, the applique. Thanks, Mae
    Attached Images Attached Images Click to view large image  Click to view large image 

  2. #2
    Super Member donnajean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    3,886
    How about adding another stem of flowers on the opposide. It does not have to be identical or as large.

  3. #3
    Super Member mom-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,767
    Maybe add a bee or a butterfly coming toward the flower???
    legendarycandles.com
    Just discovered I qualify for FABLE (Fabric Acquired Beyond Life Expectancy)

  4. #4
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,155
    Quote Originally Posted by mom-6 View Post
    Maybe add a bee or a butterfly coming toward the flower???
    I vote for mom-6's idea! Ummmm, do we get to vote?
    I also like the flowers to the side, as you have them.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    496
    I like the placement of the stem and flowers-kind of unexpected. I think it might be nice to add maybe a hummingbird, butterfly or bird coming from the top right toward the flower. Just MHO
    Marilyn

  6. #6
    Super Member quilt addict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,337
    I would not center it but agree that there should be some other "applique" to balance the quilt. Maybe a shorter/smaller flower on the other side and something in the air as a bee/butterfly/bird. Nice use of the top that you had not completed though.
    Lisa

  7. #7
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    6,213
    I wouldn't put it in the center but I like the suggestions above to add something else.

  8. #8
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,759
    It's perfect where it is.

  9. #9
    Senior Member liont's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    476
    Look at the red flower. He is looking at something on the ground. Add a caterpillar or a bug. A little whimsical!

  10. #10
    Super Member Marilynsue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mid Michigan
    Posts
    1,007
    Blog Entries
    3
    I like it just the way it is!
    Every Sunrise brings a blessing

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.