Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Please can I get some help >

Please can I get some help

Please can I get some help

Old 09-19-2014, 09:37 PM

Default Please can I get some help

I am new to quilting and recently purchased a Bargello quilt pattern. In the instructions it says I need to cut 24 strips of 2 inch of each colour. I in error used a jelly roll - where my strips are 21/2 inch width - will this be a problem in my pattern or should I then cut off the 1/2 inch from each stip. I hate to do that as it will waste so much of my fabric. Thanks for any help - I will be so grateful.
Old 09-19-2014, 09:59 PM

If you use the jellyroll, your quilt will be bigger. Since I never made a bargello, that's the only help I'm able to give you. No doubt someone will come up with an answer more useful than mine!
Old 09-19-2014, 10:23 PM

That should not be a problem. Your quilt will just be bigger.
Old 09-19-2014, 10:24 PM

Thanks for the replies - I can now start putting it together - Thanks again.
Old 09-19-2014, 10:24 PM

If you cut strips down you could do a mini scrappy table runner. If you cut all the rows. Ie right angles to stripes same with as pattern says your quilt will end up same width but longer due to jelly roll size.

You could add 1/2" to each row cutting which would make it bigger in both directions.

Hope this makes sense . Recap as jelly roll stripes 1/2" wider need to make each opposite cut also 1/2" wider to keep pattern as seen .
If you just join jelly roll then cut opposite stripes size in pattern the whole pattern will be wider than pattern in one direction and same size in the other.
If you cut stripes down to 2" and follow pattern cuts in opposite direction as pattern then you will finish at the size of the pattern.
Old 09-19-2014, 10:59 PM