Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Please share your applique tips ( Steam & Seam) >

Please share your applique tips ( Steam & Seam)

Please share your applique tips ( Steam & Seam)

Old 01-27-2011, 07:34 PM
Gal

I am having a go at machine applique using 'Steam & Seam' rather than with Vlysafix (sp) which I never was all that happy with. This new stuff feels much firmer, I am about to give it a test run this evening, any tips from you applique experts would be very much appreciated, what to do and what not to do etc, I am new to this method but I am ok on the hand needle turn method. Many thanks!

Gal
Old 01-27-2011, 07:41 PM

I like the Lite Steam a Seam 2. It's a bit softer and I'm always happy with the results.

Tips - If you have a large piece to applique, cut out the center of the fusible, leaving 1/2" or so around the edges. It will be more like hand applique feeling when you are done. I use Stitch & Tear stabilizer on the back when I stitch - usually blanket stitch - then tear it away after. It keeps the stitches from puckering. If your needle gets gummed up, alcohol will help remove it.

Good luck!
Old 01-27-2011, 07:41 PM

I used some sale stuff from Joanne's but the finished block feels hard under the applique. Now I'm using plain old cheap dollar store school glue, ironed on and then stitched around the edge with a tight zig zag. Then the glue washes out and the block is just as soft as if I had never used the glue!!

I've never used any other of the iron on stuff so never knew much about different ones. My Grandma taught me to sew, she never had any of that stuff, she used old magazines that folks gave us, also Montgomery Wards catalogs to cut out her templates.
Sure wish I had her old treadle machine now!
Old 01-27-2011, 07:46 PM

I have only ever used the Steam a Seam Lite and have not had any problems with the needle gumming up.