Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Pre-cut or Yardage? >

Pre-cut or Yardage?

Pre-cut or Yardage?

Old 07-28-2016, 08:42 AM

Cool Pre-cut or Yardage?

Hello Pretty Ladies!

I wanted to post because I was curious to see if you all prefer buying yardage or pre-cut fabrics. I am fairly new to quilting, and I have a ton of projects in mind. Will possibly be working on my first baby quilt shortly. I was just curious to see if you can get better deals buying pre-cuts, or if the yardage ends up being the better deal in the end.

Thoughts?
Old 07-28-2016, 08:47 AM

Yardage is generally cheaper than pre-cuts - you're not paying someone else to cut them for you Also, pre-cuts are sometimes cut badly, regardless of the manufacturer.
Old 07-28-2016, 08:54 AM

I agree with Knitette, you do get a better deal in the long run if you cut your own (providing you can do so accurately!). One thing you may wish to consider is an accuquilt or other cutting system if you find you have trouble with precision cutting. It takes guesswork out of it and allows decent cuts. But it is pricey.

If you find you want to experiment, maybe do a blend of both. Buy yardage for the quilts you have material you LOVE and wouldn't mind having scraps of, and buy precut for the rest? Although you will most likely end up with scraps there, too. They multiply you know!

Either way, there is no wrong answer here. Do what is best for you, which may only be found out by trying both
good luck and welcome to the madness!
Old 07-28-2016, 08:58 AM
Power Poster

Yardage is usually less expensive unless you need a wide selection of different fabrics like I Spy, Bug Jar etc. squares for a quilt.
Old 07-28-2016, 09:02 AM

Better deal with yardage, but its nominal. Buy what you like. Buy what you want.
Old 07-28-2016, 09:04 AM