Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Price for Machine Quilting?

Price for Machine Quilting?

I am fairly new to quilting, I have always done my own quilting on my Sears Sewing Machine, (bought in the '70') or by tying them. But I am doing alot more piece quilting,
    and I would like to have them quilted by long arm quilting. But I have never read or heard how much does one charge for long arm quilting. How much for a baby, single or queen size quilt... size or job. Could some enlighten me on this. THank You in advance..

I think it all depends on who is doing the quilting, what stryle of pattern you choose and where you have it done. I always send my larger quilts out to the LA to be done. Yes, it gets costly, however there is no way I can do it myself. I have paid as little as $25. for a small one and as much as $112.00 for a KIng size. Hope this helps.

I just paid $113.00 for a full size, plus $16.00 for thread. This was a panto design, no custom work involved.
    It's worth it to me. I just can't get the hang of FMQ.

A friend does mine - $40 for lap, $60 for twin - haven't had her do any larger than that. I do crib and smaller laps myself. I've also paid $60 for a large lap - also to a friend. Both these ladies didn't take in much work and were limited in what they could do with a quilt - basic quilting only - but more than I could do on my domestic machine. I still use them only for special quilts or larger ones.
    So many quilts, so little time.

Wow, you guys get great deals! I have only had 3 quilts done by a longarm quilter - the first one was a king and it cost me $398! The other 2 ranged from lap size to twin and ran between $125 and $150.
    BJ

I