Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   advice needed- semi newbie working on tee quilt- bunching (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/advice-needed-semi-newbie-working-tee-quilt-bunching-t15071.html)

squawcorn256 01-05-2009 04:50 PM

3 Attachment(s)
the pic of how it is bunched is the last pic of my 2 posts

i am working on my 2nd tee shirt quilt... but am having some difficulty... i had the same problem and was happy with the turn out of my first quilt (IT FINALLY GOT FINISHED)... but was wondering if anyone on here might have any tips of how to smooth out this problem... i am still very new at this and any tip will be appreciated

i am in the sashing part of the quilt

i pin the stuff together, start to sew, reverse to lock it in (?), and then when i get a bit past the first pin, it starts to bunch up (i guess), i end up taking out the remaining two pins and adjusting, holding the tee shirt and sashing together and continue sewing, usually having to adjust a few more times... and then when i am finished with that particular square it does not lay flat... i have attached pics... i am sewing with a cheap Singer Prelude from Target

any help would be great TY

squawcorn256 01-05-2009 04:52 PM

3 Attachment(s)
also the sashing is a green snowflake... to me it looked like a lace of some sort in the pic... but it isnt

mimisharon 01-05-2009 04:56 PM

Oh, yeah, you need to use your evenfeed. Don't have one yet? Maybe try loosening the tension a little. Maybe even try hand basting or machine basting and then going back to sewing it together.

Good luck, really, that's why my two son's t-shirts are still in the bins and not being worked up. lol

Sharon

Prism99 01-05-2009 05:05 PM