Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Another Batting Question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/another-batting-question-t287508.html)

MadQuilter 04-13-2017 03:48 PM

Another Batting Question

Hi fellow quilters, I am normally a Warm Product Batting user. (Warm & Natural, Warm & White, Warm Blend) but I am going to quilt a bed quilt for a friend in ccccccold Washington State. (I've seen the pictures with tons of snow.)

My friend lives in a house that is an energy hog and she keeps the heater as low as possible to keep the cost down. The main part of the house is heated by wood stove but I understand that the bedrooms are ....nippy.

To me, W&N does not give enough support under those conditions and I'm looking for an alternative. I hear that wool is a warmer option but I have never worked with wool batting before.

What other options would you recommend for a comfy-cozy warm Washington quilt?

BrendaK 04-13-2017 03:53 PM

Maybe a fleece batting would work. I'll be watching this thread to see the other suggestions. BrendaK

EasyPeezy 04-13-2017 04:00 PM

I live up north and I use Warm in all my quilts. When it gets really really
cold (think -30C) I double my quilts.

ube quilting 04-13-2017 04:07 PM

Use a combination or double up he batting you like. I have never done this but it is a common practice.

PaperPrincess 04-13-2017 04:49 PM

Michigan gets pretty cold too. I would vote for wool. It is very easy to work with and has a higher loft than W&N, so your quilting shows up more. Use a nice flannel for the back. I personally don't like the way that fleece doesn't breathe, but this doesn't bother a lot of folks.

wesing 04-13-2017 05:00 PM

We used a Cotton batting and fleece back for my F-I-L's quilt and it is very warm. It also (machine) quilted very nicely.

sewingitalltogether 04-13-2017 05:04 PM

I love wool.

quiltingshorttimer 04-13-2017 05:26 PM