Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Antique Quilts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/antique-quilts-t43600.html)

Carolinepaco 04-22-2010 10:44 PM

I'm busy repairing old quilt tops or old quilt blocks, to make "new" quilts of them, just for myself (not for sale or anything else). Just because I like those old quilts. I'm very enthousiastic about it. I have no experience, I just try and see how it works out. Are there more quilters who have experience, and what do you do?

fabric-holic 04-23-2010 02:13 AM

I repaired one once for a childhood friend's father. It was made in the 1950s and partially in tatters....huge open areas. The backing was holding it all together. Luckily it was Xmas time and I found the exact shade of green that is only available at that time of year. The rest was white muslin and butter yellow. I made templates from the intact blocks and replaced the missing chunks of batting etc. It looked brand new almost when I was done, they said. It was very time consuming but I was glad to do it for them. They were very nice to me during my difficult childhood. Maybe after (if) I retire I'd do it again. Antique quilts amaze me. No fancy tools like we have yet their's are better than mine alot of the time....lol

Oklahoma Suzie 04-23-2010 04:14 AM

have never done one, would love to see some pics.

TeresaT 04-23-2010 04:23 AM

I have an antique quilt I got at a yard sale for 2.00. It is pretty well worn. I don't know if it is repairable or not but I couldn't leave it lying there knowing all the work that had gone into it when it was made.

Carolinepaco 04-23-2010 04:55 AM