Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Aurifil Thread (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/aurifil-thread-t46424.html)

miholmes 05-19-2010 11:12 AM

Okay,

So I have my new Bernina, and the shop is recommending I only use Aurifil thread. Now I'm sure it's GREAT thread, but at $10 a spool it can get a little pricey....although there is a lot on a spool.

Anyway, I'm no thread expert, but is this what I should go with? Or are there some alternatives?

dsb38327 05-19-2010 11:22 AM

Good luck. I am sure you will get some good recommendations. Isn't it nice to have so many people to get hands on experience from? Congratulations on the new machine. Enjoy.

salmonsweet 05-19-2010 11:32 AM

I use Aurifil for piecing and a spool of it goes a looooooooooooooooong way. :)

Bluphrog 05-19-2010 11:37 AM

And I'm sure that the shop sells it, too, don't they?

My suggestion is to use what you like. If your machine doesn't like it, it will tell you.

I have a Bernina QE 440, and I've always used the Gutterman 100% cotton (50/3 weight) for piecing. I've used rayon thread for topstitching, and I discovered the Prescencia 100% cotton (60/2) threads (which I love and which is replacing the Gutterman!). All of them work just fine on my Bernina. I know one 440 owner who won't use anything but the Mettler threads and another who loves YLI.

It's my understanding that most Aurifil threads are a 50/2 weight, which is a little light for piecing. I like a 50/3 or a 60/3 for piecing and for quilting, which is why I use what I do.

For more information about the differences in threads, Harriet Hargraves' "Heirloom Machine Quilting, 4th Edition" has a lot of good information.

Hinterland 05-19-2010 11:39 AM

LOL - my Bernina dealer suggests I use a particular brand of polyester thread...which they sell.