Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Backing Help Please!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/backing-help-please-t92177.html)

Jazzmyn 01-20-2011 08:11 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I need a step by step directions as to how to do a simple basic back for a quilt top.

Short story here: I am NEW to quilting and I really mean NEW...I don't know why I have to always start with hard things I just find them a challenge...I DO follow directions to patterns step by step. I ordered several Dereck Lockwood Bargello patterns(love these quilts they fasinate me) the one I chose to do first is "Diamond Lites" done in 12" blocks...took me a few weeks to do but I got the front done I was impressed how well it turned out and even my DH was impressed....Dereck's directions are Great easy to follow....BUT...in none of the patterns is he telling a person step by step how to lay out the material for the back and how to do it....do you cut the material "x" amount inches past the front...do you cut the batting the same size as the top or the back? Is there a tute to step by step how to do the back...I realize there has got to be a million ways to do a back and it depends on the top and of course how a person wants it to look.

What I have is a topper that is 66 x90 the last border for the front is black and the back is to be black...it is to take 4 yards to do the back.

My problem is I Don't know where to start and end....does that makes sense? I am certain I am making this really harder than it is.....I think I just need a push start.

I am attaching a pic of the front before I put the borders on(hope it works...haven't done an attachment before).

Thank You for your help, Roseanna (Jazzmyn)

first attempt quilt top
[ATTACH=CONFIG]164162[/ATTACH]

donnajean 01-20-2011 08:16 AM