Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best Press (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-press-t101632.html)

heartbuilt 02-21-2011 04:42 AM

This past weekend I bought Best Press at Hancock Fabrics as it was on "special" for $5.99. I had never used it before so I thought I'd give it a try. I must be doing something wrong because it didn't give any stiffness to the pieces I pressed with the iron. Or do you think that maybe I got a "dud" bottle?

ckcowl 02-21-2011 04:59 AM

i think 'best-press' is more of a sizing, which helps remove wrinkles, without adding stiffness;
if you want stiff/crispness added to your fabrics try some real 'starch' available in the grocery store laundry isle...for alot less than the $$ you spent in the lqs.

heartbuilt 02-21-2011 05:18 AM

OHHH! I am new to quilting (and pressing/ironing for that matter), so I thought it being a starch alternative that it would give me that crisp stiffness I was looking for. Am not happy I spent the $$ for the Best Press when I probably could have spent a buck and bought spray starch to do the trick. Live & learn huh? :)

MissSandra 02-21-2011 05:37 AM

I love best press, and it does stiffen what i have used on. not a heavy stiff but a desirable stiffness. in face i even sent some to my quilting friend.
Sandra

rismstress 02-21-2011 05:52 AM

I love it- when you iron dark fabrics, it doesn't leave the starchy flakes. Right now I'm out of it and have to get some more.
Cheryl

girlsfour 02-21-2011 05:57 AM

I love Best Press as well. It isn't stiff, but still keeps your fabric wrinkle free. Plus you don't get the white flakes on your fabric. It's really good to use if you are storing your fabric for a while. My husband uses it every day on his cotton button-down collar shirts.