Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best sewing machine for quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-sewing-machine-quilting-t198815.html)

geeblay627e120 08-27-2012 10:06 AM

Best sewing machine for quilting

I am thinking I would like to try machine quilting. I don't need anything big and fancy. I am a beginner and have lots of ideas, but just barely enough time to do even the piecing. I have several tops started and none finished. I don't think there is enough time in my lifetime to do by hand all that I want to do. So I am thinking maybe to machine quilt is my solution.
I piece with a Featherweight, which I have been told is not good for machine quilting. True? What would be a pretty good, reasonably priced sewing machine for quilting?
Thanks,
Gloria in Kansas City

CaroleLee 08-27-2012 10:18 AM

The new Juki is suppose to be a great machine for FMQ and under $1000.00 but only sews straight stitch. I just purchased an Elna 7700 that only does straight stitch and it works great. I also have a Bernina 230 that is wonderful.

geeblay627e120 08-27-2012 10:38 AM

Thank you CaroleLee...but I am hoping I can find something that does an adequate job in the $300 range. Maybe there is no such thing. I don't mind used equipment. I love my little featherweight. I am too much of a beginner and don't spend enough time at it to invest much in my machines right now. I thought perhaps there was something cheap enough that I could give it a try, maybe learn a little and some day when I am retired and have had a chance to find out if I will stick with this, then buy better equipment.

Candace 08-27-2012 10:42 AM