Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Buying fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/buying-fabric-t9170.html)

Tigerbaby1981 07-17-2008 09:33 AM

How does everyone buy their fabric? with a idea of a quilt in mind or just becuase they like the fabric? How much do you buy? a yard fat quarter?
Im really new to this, how to you match it all? whats a good rule of thumb?

adyldrop 07-17-2008 09:38 AM

I buy something when I see a pretty--doesn't need to be for a special project. The project usually jumps out at me. I buy whatever fits that fabric. If it's a pattern I'd probably use more in a bag, I'd buy a fat quarter or a half yard. If it's a really good print I could see using in a quilt I generally get a yard. Depends on the price too. I am cheap. Hee hee I think we all are! Some websites have a minimum order amount--sometimes it's a yard and sometimes it's a half yard. That kinda decides things for me too. When I'm really in the mood to buy fabric is when I gotta be careful--I'll get a yard of everything and go overboard! Hope my rambling helps somewhat if at all :) and post it when/if you order some so we can all drool!

Tigerbaby1981 07-17-2008 09:51 AM

Thanks it did help. I want to buy Moda Northern Flights collection to make a lap quilt and a queen quilt but I dont know how much i should get. or if I should buy the fat quater bundle.. Ive been drooling over all these nice prints but get stuck at that.

retrogirl02 07-17-2008 09:54 AM

You need a reason to buy fabric?? LOL. I pick whatever I want and sometimes I buy a few yards if I really LOVE the fabric...other times I wonder what I'll do with it and pick up a fat quarter. I like scrappy quilts, so a nice collection of fat quarters will definitely be used at some point. I've got my next 3 or 4 projects picked out, so I do stock up on fabric for them which may or may not work----always looking to feed the stash.