Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   which comes first?? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/comes-first-t35496.html)

beaglegirl 01-30-2010 02:06 AM

I am a newbie so this may seem like a pointless question: Do you quilt the sandwich before or after adding binding or borders? Some of the pictures in books show it being done before. This is such a wonderful and helpful site for all of us that are just beginning to discover this addictive hobby. Thank you so much for your help.

patricej 01-30-2010 02:51 AM

Originally Posted by beaglegirl
I am a newbie so this may seem like a pointless question: Do you quilt the sandwich before or after adding binding or borders? Some of the pictures in books show it being done before. This is such a wonderful and helpful site for all of us that are just beginning to discover this addictive hobby. Thank you so much for your help.

although i expect you'll get a variety of answers, it is definitely NOT a pointless question. it's a very important one. it was wise of you to ask ahead. :thumbup:

i add all but my last border before quilting. the last border goes on next. if my last border doesn't do double duty as the binding, too, i quilt that and then add the binding.

whether it's a border/binding, or just a binding, i always that last, after squaring up the quilted project.

beaglegirl 01-30-2010 02:55 AM

thank you. I know I can always count on all of you to lead me in the right direction.

lisalovesquilting 01-30-2010 04:24 AM

Originally Posted by PatriceJ

although i expect you'll get a variety of answers, it is definitely NOT a pointless question. it's a very important one. it was wise of you to ask ahead. :thumbup:

i add all but my last border before quilting. the last border goes on next. if my last border doesn't do double duty as the binding, too, i quilt that and then add the binding.