Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Designer SE just can't free motion (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/designer-se-just-cant-free-motion-t1509.html)

nashville girl 07-23-2007 06:34 AM

Own a Designer SE for about 1 1/2 years, before that Designer 1. My primay hobby is quilting, and my goal has been to learn free motion quilting. I have had this SE to the shop 2 times, back to Viking "factory" once. In a free motion workshop this weekend and was the only one with thread breaking... also the only Viking. The teacher had 15 years experience, and her advice... send it back to "factory" for repairs.
I am hearbroken! Tried every needle, thread, threading, new bobbin holder, all tensions, and my machine is so clean it is sterile.
Is anyone else having such a problem? I feel like I have purchased a $$$$$$$ lemon. I have been sewing for 25 years and never felt so frustrated.

bj9patch 07-23-2007 07:31 AM

Are you using a darning foot or big foot?
Is your stictch length at "0"?

bj9patch 07-23-2007 07:31 AM

I meant stitch length! Have not had enough coffee yet :D

Yvonne 07-23-2007 07:48 AM

I would certainly take that machine back to the shop where you bought it and ask the sales people there to show you how to do free motion sewing. If they can't make it work tell them you want your money back. It's just not worth the headache! You are a quilter and you deserve a machine that is easy to work with. Lot's of luck.

Extreme Quilter 07-23-2007 08:18 AM