Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Designing Quilt Patterns (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/designing-quilt-patterns-t87065.html)

NorthernDeb 01-02-2011 12:53 PM

Hi all... I've been working on creating new quilt patterns for about a year now. Only one is in a quilt shop (I'm a real beginner at it :). Anyways, I always wonder what everyone is looking for... what type of design, colors, easy or complicated, traditional or modern, calm or busy? I think most designers ask themselves this. My daughters and I usually create our own pattern for ourselves but now we want to share them. People have asked for some of them and I've given quite a few away. I plan to put some up for sale and some will be freebies on my blog.
Like I said, I'm a real beginner at this so I would love to have some direction. I've been quilting and sewing for most of my life and it's always been a hobby. I'm retired from home design (kind of a forced retirement considering the economy) and this will be my new occupation as I head into my "golden" years. Any comments would be welcome.

nwm50 01-02-2011 01:01 PM

great idea to start here !Good luck on your endeavors!! Maybe u need to post patterns that u have or samples of work done ?

vcinwa 01-02-2011 01:09 PM

I look for designs that catch my eye, usually more intermediate skill levels, contemporary or traditional. I like patterns that offer yardage charts and directions for various size quilts. And of course accuracy is so important. When I trust a designer is accurate I have more of a tendency to go back to her/him.

NorthernDeb 01-02-2011 01:18 PM

1 Attachment(s)
This is a quilt I designed for my brother-in-law who has a home in Arizona. He lets us stay in his home down there for a couple of months each winter. This was a thank you quilt for him and his wife. It's not a pattern that I plan to sell... I just designed it for him.