Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Do you ever look at quilts on here and... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/do-you-ever-look-quilts-here-t54597.html)

ginnie6 07-15-2010 06:50 AM

just think that you are not really a quilter? Some of them are so beautiful and at times I despair over ever making something that pretty. Especially when I spend a day like yesterday......ripping out seams! I guess i should give myself a break.....I just started quilting last year after all and I have made what I think are some pretty quilts.

shaverg 07-15-2010 06:53 AM

You definitely should give yourself a break.

I have been quilting for almost 30 years and to this day I am amazed at the quilts on this board.

I still have to rip out, although sometimes the ripping may be do to the fact many of us are such perfectionist. Whats the saying if you can't notice it on a galloping horse. LOL

My friend and I sometimes call ourselves the Queen of Rip.

sueisallaboutquilts 07-15-2010 06:54 AM

Ginnie, YES!! I really don't have nearly as much imagination as I would like. And I know I'm like a lot of others being hyper-critical of my work. The only thing I feel that I do well is hand quilting. It looks pretty good :)

Pam 07-15-2010 06:54 AM

I am one that truly admires other's work. I do not have a hard time commiting to work on a quilt, but I have a hard time getting it done, my next project is ALWAYS more exciting than the one I am currently working on.

I do have to say though that I am putting on the top and bottom border of a charity top that I made yesterday. Notice I said top, certainly NOT a quilt, yet, just some scraps sewed together until I get my wide butt into gear to get it done.

CraftsByRobin 07-15-2010 06:55 AM

Originally Posted by ginnie6