Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Does anyone organize by fabric lines? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/does-anyone-organize-fabric-lines-t181447.html)

jcrow 03-02-2012 06:56 PM

Does anyone organize by fabric lines?

Does anyone organize their fabric by fabric lines rather than by color? It seems that every thread I read about organizing, everyone does it by color. I do it by fabric lines. I do have some shelves that are by color and some drawers, too. But mainly I buy a collection and it usually includes a layer cake and jelly roll or charm pack and then some yards of the different fabric from the line. I usually make my quilts out of one line. I'm not too good at matching colors...it seems all the creams match but then if I have someone look at them, they pull out the ones that don't go together, so I started buying collections a long time ago so I wouldn't have this problem.

auntpiggylpn 03-02-2012 07:07 PM

I usually organize by color. If I happen to get several pieces of the same line, including jellyrolls and charms, then I have a shelf that collections go on. Usually whenever I buy more than a couple of pieces of a line, I already have a particular project in mind and then everything will go into a bag or tote with the pattern so I don't accidentally use it for something else.

Peckish 03-02-2012 08:02 PM

Sounds like a good system that works well for you! I'll have to tell a friend of mine who can't see colors. She always needs help when she selects fabrics.

Vanuatu Jill 03-02-2012 08:08 PM