Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Favorite threads for hand quilting? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/favorite-threads-hand-quilting-t217166.html)

toolazy 03-24-2013 04:45 AM

Favorite threads for hand quilting?

What are your favorite threads (brand, type/finish, weight) for hand quilting?

I'm new to hand quilting and have been experimenting with the threads I have. Obviously a person would use different weights and finishes for different types of design, but I'm curious as to what you all use. Even the hand quilting glace cottons I have are quite different in feel and in finished look (Gutermann vs. Coats&Clark, for example).

chips88 03-24-2013 04:55 AM

i use aurifil 50 wt . for everything. from hand to sewing machine. i would like to use the other wt thread. but not familiar . if it is good for general sewing.i will be watching this thread to all answers. :)

Hinterland 03-24-2013 05:15 AM

I use YLI hand quilting thread. It's glazed so it doesn't fray quickly, and it doesn't knot and tangle as much as some others. My only complaint is that it doesn't come in some of the colors I'd like use.

Janet

olgaflowers 03-24-2013 05:21 AM

I have always used Coats & Clark, have no problems,

Traditional Quilter 03-24-2013 05:32 AM