Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   First time hand quilting - tips (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/first-time-hand-quilting-tips-t220291.html)

Stitch124 04-29-2013 09:51 AM

First time hand quilting - tips

A dear friend gave me an old family quilt to keep. Someone in the family started hand-quilting, so I want to finish it the same way of course, which I've never done before.

She also gave me a beautiful, huge, wooden oval hoop, that looks very expensive, btw.

Just look for advice to tackle this challenge since it will be my first time hand-quilting.

Thanks for the tips and suggestions.

Julie

Nammie to 7 04-29-2013 09:54 AM

I took a class from a lady who taught a two-thimble method of quilting while using a hoop. I liked that method as it left me with in-tact fingers! I would like to take the class again now that I have time to actually do that sort of thing. Good luck in your endeavor. I think there is a Craftsy class on hand quilting. You might check it out.

yngldy 04-29-2013 09:59 AM

Go to youtube and look for Aunt Becky's method. I have seen it demo'd at quilt shows, and looks easy.

JulieR 04-29-2013 10:37 AM

I've seen the Aunt Becky method and taken the Craftsy class -- both very informative -- and watched everything I could find online. Now I just need to jump in and do it...which I still haven't done, but I'm closer than I was :)

There are a few hand quilting groups on Facebook you might like, too.

IQ2 04-29-2013 11:00 AM