Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Free Motion Quilting...What type of thread? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/free-motion-quilting-what-type-thread-t151984.html)

kimnkell 09-10-2011 06:36 PM

Hello,
I am free motion quilting a quilt for my daughter on my machine and am having problems with the thread getting knots in it and breaking all the time. The thread I have is a real cheapo type of thread but this is my first free motion quilting and really had no idea what kind of thread to use. Does anyone have any suggestions on what type of thread is the best?

Just-Lee 09-10-2011 06:43 PM

Although I am new to FMQ-ing, I have had some of the same problems. There is more to those issues than just thread type... it depends on what your machine "likes", tension settings, hand vs. machine speed, etc. Do a search on here, as there have been many threads on this topic and other issues.

CanoePam 09-10-2011 06:48 PM

I like Superior's "SoFine" thread a lot. It is a polyester, but it feels like a cotton and quilts beautifully. I use it for both piecing and free motion quilting. I just finished a crib quilt today and I used a varigated 40wt Aurafil. Aurafil comes in both a 40w and a 50w, but I like the heavier 40wt version.

Don't use cheap thread - it just isn't worth it. Most people like 100% cotton thread, but the SoFine is great stuff. I think varigated threads hide a lot of erors too!

Pam

Mitch's mom 09-10-2011 06:56 PM

It could be your thread, it could also be your machine. Machines have 2 common bobbin set ups: Horizontal and Vertical. Most newer - not all - machines have a horizontal or 'drop in' bobbin. The thread has to turn a corner to form a stitch and on some machines it is almost impossible to FMQ on them. One noted for being unable to successfully FMQ with is the Brother Pacesetter PC-6500 (ask how I know) and there are others.