Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Good threads to use? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/good-threads-use-t113371.html)

Elisabethann 04-04-2011 04:40 AM

I need to get some thread. I am pretty new to quilting and am not sure what name brands are good. I will be machine piecing quilts, and am going to attempt machine applique.

Gutermann?
Sulky?
COats and Clark?

Any comments are greatly appreciated. TIA

sewnsewer2 04-04-2011 04:42 AM

I like serger thread because it is thin and lays nicer when pressed.

sewcrafty 04-04-2011 04:44 AM

For piecing, I usually just use C&C. They used to get a bad wrap, but I haven't had any problem with them. Save the $$$ for when embellishing with nicer threads (rayon or silk) or to buy fabric!

ckcowl 04-04-2011 04:44 AM

connecting threads.com and Atlanta thread company are both good sources for threads- i have found that my machine refuses to work well with some threads- even expensive ones- so when i find a thread that works i tend to stick with it- i've been buying all of my thread from Connecting threads for the past year and am very happy with them.

Quilter7x 04-04-2011 04:46 AM

Originally Posted by sewnsewer2

I heard that serger threads are thinner on purpose because when used in a serger, they create strength because you're using at least 3 threads together.

I use mostly Gutermann threads and have some Coats and Clark thread also. Lots of people here love thread from ConnectingThreads.com. I hear Superior threads are good too, though I think they're pricey.

There's a search function at the top of the page. If you search for the various kinds of threads, you can get a lot of opinions on them.

Some machines are fussy and only like a few different brands of thread. That will be trial and error for you as each machine is different.

Welcome to the wonderful world of quilting! :thumbup:

ckcowl 04-04-2011 04:47 AM