Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Had to postpone my first quilt, but Im now ready! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/had-postpone-my-first-quilt-but-im-now-ready-t14742.html)

newnana 12-25-2008 04:05 PM

Hello all! I had my first post a month or so ago, about starting my very first quilt , ( For my first grandchild due in April, out of my sons baby
clothes) You were ALL so sweet and offered lots of great advice and encouragment. I dont know how to find your replys now, so I have to start over!!! I did cut out my squares then , 40 of them into 5" squares,
I just want a basic quilt for a crib, out of squares from his clothes.
What do I HAVE to have next ? I know I need to iron and sew the pieces
together for the top, Anyone want to walk me through ???
Im a true beginner, and frankly all the frames and tools confuse me ....

pocoellie 12-25-2008 04:21 PM

What I would do is pin your rows together. For a 5" square, I would use only 1 pin, I like to pin at the top and the next one on the opposite side on the bottom. I hope I'm making sense. Then just sew the squares and rows that are pinned at the top or bottom, cut your threads, then sew the opposite sides. Press the rows after sewing, then sew the rows together. Press, then make your sandwich(backing, batting, and top). Tie, or quilt then do your binding. You could even do a pillowcase style, which means you don't have to do a binding. If you have any more questions or if I can help more or better, PM me.

ScubaK 12-25-2008 04:43 PM

DO NOT IRON your squares if you have already cut them out...
Pin two togehter (or not) and sew together using a 1/4 inch seam. It is important to use this seam throughout the contruction of your quilt.
Sew the next block onto the first two and so on till you have it the length you want.
Press your seams toward the darkest fabric. Press down with a hot iron, no steam...