Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Hamd quilting thread questions>...... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/hamd-quilting-thread-questions%3E-t144791.html)

Patti Mahoney 08-13-2011 03:58 AM

I'm working on my very first piece of applique. I am just about finished basting my grid to start guilting, I have the back, batting and top all sandwiched and smooth. I have two spools of Coats & Clark Glace hand quilting thread. I've been using that to sew my hexagons together. The hexs are my first and only project, my applique is the second. Anyhow, I've never done actual hand quilting before. I'm using Mettler to do the applique pieces to the background fabric to match the applique pieces. Should I buy a similar hand quilting Mettler product to quilt with. Does it make a big difference when using one brand of thread over another. I found the hexagon pattern online, I was clueless when I started my paper piece hexagon top, the instructions said to sew them together, I didn't even know ther was such a thing as hand quilting thread until I went to Joann's. Anyhow, any suggestions?? Thanks so much, Babs

sueisallaboutquilts 08-13-2011 04:04 AM

If you already have hand quilting thread I would use it. You don't need the brands to match.
However, I only use hand quilting thread for hand quilting, not piecing. How did it go??

Patti Mahoney 08-13-2011 04:38 AM