Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Hand Quilting With Hoop (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/hand-quilting-hoop-t187719.html)

Themisnike 04-30-2012 01:51 PM

Hand Quilting With Hoop

Hi, y'all! I'm new to quilting, and am completely self-taught. I'm attempting my first hand-quilted quilt. I can't seem to get used to the large hoops. My question is- if you've basted well, why do you need the hoop? Thanks!

Hinterland 04-30-2012 02:13 PM

Actually, you don't need a hoop. I find it helps, but lots of other quilters don't care for it.

It's easier to quilt if you don't pull the quilt tight in the hoop. If that doesn't help, feel free to take the quilt out and hand quilt without it. I guarantee the quilt police will not show up at your door.

Janet

Themisnike 04-30-2012 02:31 PM

Thank you do much, Janet! I wanted to ask the experts before I found out something the hard way!

Hinterland 04-30-2012 03:20 PM

To be honest, for me it's harder to quilt without the hoop. But there are many quilters here who don't use a hoop, and there are many "famous" quilters who don't, either. The important thing is that you enjoy what you're doing and get the results you want. When the quilt is done and bound, no one will be able to tell whether you used a hoop or not.

Janet

Val in IN 04-30-2012 07:18 PM

I've never been able to get used to using a hoop or frame. I baste well and quilt without. It's all in what's comfortable for YOU. I congratulate you for going for it. Happy Quilting!!

Pat625 04-30-2012 07:28 PM

I use a PVC frame, but loosen it up a little to be able to maneuver the needle

Themisnike 04-30-2012 09:08 PM