Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Have to ask (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/have-ask-t155004.html)

athomenow 09-22-2011 12:56 PM

I'm rather new to quilting although I have sewn at the beginner to intermediate level for the kids and grandkids. I have two machines but I need to know what the attraction is for the really old machines. Everyone seems so excited when they get these machines and I just have to know why?? What is it they do that others (newer ones) won't? Thanks for indulging me.

virtualbernie 09-22-2011 12:59 PM

No computer parts to break, can easily be fixed by yourself, sews a straighter line are a few things I can think of off the top of my head.

erstan947 09-22-2011 01:01 PM

The are kind of like a classic car. Love the oldies but goodies. I have 2 old singers. They are simple, all metal, straight stitch. easy to maintain, quiet and I could go on. I also have one new model with bells and whistles but the old singers are my go to machine for most project.
Completely a personal preference!:)

Marcia D 09-22-2011 01:02 PM

Hmmm, interesting!

QuiltnCowgirl 09-22-2011 01:02 PM

Originally Posted by erstan947
The are kind of like a classic car. Love the oldies but goodies. I have 2 old singers. They are simple, all metal, straight stitch. easy to maintain, quiet and I could go on. I also have one new model with bells and whistles but the old singers are my go to machine for most project.
Completely a personal preference!:)

Agreed! :thumbup:

Lacelady 09-22-2011 01:04 PM

And in the case of Featherweights, small, lightweight, and just incredibly CUTE

Mary M 09-22-2011 01:11 PM

I love mine just to look at and they are a part of history when things were made to last, unlike so much of what is made today. I grew up sewing on a black beauty and so there is also the nostalgia {sp?} And yes, I am into the blacks and can be different brands.