Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Have you ever found fabric and can't remember which quilt it came from? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/have-you-ever-found-fabric-cant-remember-quilt-came-t183568.html)

jcrow 03-21-2012 08:04 AM

Have you ever found fabric and can't remember which quilt it came from?

Lately I've been collecting all my pieces of fabric from quilts I have made and putting them all together. Well, most of them I can't even remember what quilt I made from these fabrics. I don't (but should) take pictures of my quilts and I've been quilting since 1992 and have made a lot of quilts so all these fabrics look familiar but I don't even know who I gave the quilts to or what the quilt looked like. Sure wish I would have taken my sister's advice and took pictures of each quilt. Also, I made many more quilts than I thought I had just by the amount of fabric left over from each quilt. Does this happen to you? :eek:

newbee3 03-21-2012 08:08 AM

I keep a journal and add a picture with the actual scraps that I used.

dunster 03-21-2012 08:17 AM

I take pictures of all my quilts and keep them on the computer (with a backup). I keep a spreadsheet listing the quilts. But I've only been quilting a few years, and already I find that I have forgotten about some of the quilts. Even though you didn't start taking pictures or keeping a journal when you started quilting, it's not too late to start now. And you might try to backtrack and get pictures of some that you gave to other people too. Ask them to send you pictures, or take some when you go to visit. It will be fun to get to know those old quilts again!

pacquilter 03-21-2012 08:43 AM