Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Help with first quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/help-first-quilt-t102599.html)

neberlin 02-24-2011 04:50 AM

I am currently working on my first quilt and am ready to start quilting - I have five 2" black strips that run the length of the quilt plus my black border - I am planning on "stitching in the ditch" and was going to use an "S" type stitch. I did my first row but the stitches were not even and I didn't like the look of it. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what type of stitch would look good plus be a little easier to do. My quilt is around 50" wide x 60" long. I want to do this myself rather than give it to someone else to quilt. I am new to sewing and quilting so it has been a learning curve for me - kind of "winging" it while I go! Thanks for any help.

donnajean 02-24-2011 05:12 AM

1st, are you using a walking foot which will feed the fabric more evenly? I use YLI invisible thread for my top thread & my Viking Rose machine has a stitch that goes a couple stitches forward, nip, to the left, couple forward, nip to the right, & so on.

Originally Posted by neberlin
I am currently working on my first quilt and am ready to start quilting - I have five 2" black strips that run the length of the quilt plus my black border - I am planning on "stitching in the ditch" and was going to use an "S" type stitch. I did my first row but the stitches were not even and I didn't like the look of it. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what type of stitch would look good plus be a little easier to do. My quilt is around 50" wide x 60" long. I want to do this myself rather than give it to someone else to quilt. I am new to sewing and quilting so it has been a learning curve for me - kind of "winging" it while I go! Thanks for any help.

JuneD 02-24-2011 05:28 AM