Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How big is your flannel board? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-big-your-flannel-board-t73150.html)

mmlctnp 10-30-2010 04:22 AM

How big is your flannel board? I am working on a full/queen sized scrap quilt and want to "coordinate" colors and patterns. Do you use a smaller board with sections of the quilt or do you use a large board to get it together all at once? I've never done one this crazily complex before. All suggestions considered.

cjk 10-30-2010 04:23 AM

I don't have enough room for a board so I'm no help.

whinnytoo 10-30-2010 04:26 AM

I bought two full size sheets of insulation board (the blue stuff) and covered them with flannel. Mine are attached to a wall, but they could very easily be made portable.
works great!!!! good luck on your quilt

lmiller1978 10-30-2010 04:27 AM

I don't have one either...I have a cork board...it's the best I could do with the limited space I have. It's about 3' x 3' and it works great for laying out my block patterns, but not so great for seeing the whole quilt laid out

sewTinker 10-30-2010 04:35 AM

my "board" is a vinyl table cloth hung backwards on the wall (need a step stool to work the top of it). I'm limited to that size. Anything bigger gets laid on the bed. lol... If I had the wall space, I would/could stitch two of them together.

janRN 10-30-2010 04:36 AM

I use a flannel sheet, double bed size, on a curtain rod. Not sure of the measurements but I can fold it in half or thirds if I'm making smaller items and leave it opened to work on large quilts.

Nancy S. 10-30-2010 04:41 AM

I use a piece of warm and natural tacked on the wall behind a door. I think it is twin size and if I need larger I have a queen bed in the next room to work on but the wall seems to do the trick.

DebbyT 10-30-2010 05:33 AM