Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   How to fix (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-fix-t72481.html)

cindle 10-26-2010 02:48 PM

I have a couple of quilts that my grandma made a long while ago and some of the blocks are starting to come apart. The quilts she made where the kind (sorry don't know the proper name) that have the four blocks in one square. She used fabrics ranging from cotton, to stuff that looks almost like polar fleece on top but I can remember the back being really scratchy so the soft part always had to face up. I was just wondering how I should go about fixing them. My uncle also mentioned that a few of his needed fixing too. My grandma passed away and I'm just new to the world of quilting so I don't want to wreck the quilts we have to remember her by. Especially now that they can't be replaced.

luckylindy333 10-26-2010 03:02 PM

I would find someone who does quilt restoration and start getting them restored one by one... If that is too expensive, maybe you can find a class to learn how to restore them if you have a quilt shop in your town. Welcome to the world of quilting!

cindle 10-26-2010 03:12 PM

2 Attachment(s)
I thought I'd take a picture to show how the quit is coming apart and what the blocks look like.

ckcowl 10-26-2010 03:26 PM