Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I hate borders! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-hate-borders-t96369.html)

indymta 02-03-2011 07:17 AM

I'm still pretty new to quilting. Each time I've made a quilt (nothing bigger than a lap quilt) my cutting and piecing gets better which probably explains my problems before. Now I'm trying to finish a baby quilt. Side borders ok as both sides measured the same. Problem with the top and bottom as the bottom measured 1/4 inch more than the top and thru the middle. Used a walking foot (which was a suggestion I had seen on the board before) and put the bordre fabric on top and the quilt on the bottom so that the fabric could be eased into the border. Still the border was too short. Ripped it out and cut the border long enought to fit. I was trying to do it how it's recommended to prevent waves, etc. Was 1/4 inch too much to ease? Besides being more accurate (my goal) should I have done something else?

bamamama 02-03-2011 07:23 AM

I have been quilting for years and always just sewed my borders on. I'm a self taught quilter. It always worked out really well but I was hand qulting. Now that I am using a mid arm, it is an issue. I am interested in hearing more about this too.

amma 02-03-2011 07:23 AM

If you are going to ease it in, you need to fold the border in half,crease and fold atleast 3 more times. Pin the center crease to the center of the quilt. Pin the other creased spots to the appropriate areas of the quilt.

Then you do the "easing in" in each of these sections. So being off 1/4" really isn't much, when divided over all of these pinned areas. :D:D:D

katier825 02-03-2011 07:24 AM

I find that if I pin it alot, it helps me ease it in better. I probably pin every 4-6 inches or so. Start by pinning the middle, the ends, then in between those.

indymta 02-03-2011 07:29 AM