Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   I like the invisible thread (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/i-like-invisible-thread-t111949.html)

Dina 03-30-2011 07:09 AM

I have avoided using the invisible thread, as I have read many quilters not liking it. However, my sister convinced me to try it, top thread only, and even gave me a spool of it.

I really like it. She did suggest that I clip my threads as I go, as doing it later might be challenging. Made sense, and I have been doing that.

I am just beginning to do stuff "outside my comfort zone" when it comes to quilting, and this has given me confidence!! I might even have enough confidence going to try the Trip Around the World pattern, which I looked at recently and decided it wasn't something I would be successful at.

hoppyfrog 03-30-2011 07:35 AM

Please don't use it on charity or childrens quilts. It can melt. Also little ones can't tell you what's poking them.

Grama Lehr 03-30-2011 07:36 AM

I like it too, a lot of people say not to use it on baby quilts. They can wrap a lose thread around their tiny little fingers and cut off circulation.

Dina 03-30-2011 07:41 AM

Okay, thanks for the advice. I currently only sew for myself...no baby or charity quilts, but I appreciate knowing when not to use it.

featherweight 03-30-2011 09:31 AM

I don't care for it but, everyone to their own opinion. I hate the little poky thread ends, even when they have been trimmed.

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 03-30-2011 09:35 AM

I like invisible thread, too.

As for the Trip Around the World, it's really not that hard. Eleanor Burns' book is very good for it.

Dina 03-30-2011 10:18 AM

Thanks for the encouragement for the Trip Around the World. I need it. :)

luvspaper 03-30-2011 10:44 AM

I used it on part of a quilt for my son and can't say I will use it again. I tend to like the cotton ones actually.