Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Invisible Thread (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/invisible-thread-t36268.html)

lhavelka 02-07-2010 04:26 PM

Hi everyone, I am new to quilting and I just sewed my first quilt together and then did stitch n ditch. I used invisible thread on the top and black thread on the bottom. I dont know if it is my machine or using invisible thread but it seems like the invisible thread wound up on the underside when I turned it over to cut the threads. There was both the black and the invisible threads to cut on the underside. Any suggestions?

Maride 02-07-2010 04:35 PM

Invisible thread is very tricky to use, even to the most experienced quilters. The tension has to be perfectly adjusted and even that doesn't assure you it will sew right. Is it too late to switch to regular thread? I avoid using it as much as I can.

lhavelka 02-07-2010 04:41 PM

Yep too late I have all the seams already sewed. I probably will never do that again. Do you have any suggestions as to what color thread you would use for the stitch in the ditch when you have used multiple colors in the quilt? Thanks so much for letting me know that.

Jim's Gem 02-07-2010 04:42 PM

I've used the "invisible" thread once, that's all it took. I really like to use variegated threads for my quilting. I pick something that has several of the colors from the quilt in it.

lhavelka 02-07-2010 04:46 PM

That sounds great. I will definitely try that on the next one. I am going to attempt to practice stippling. I have borders on the quilt. If the back of the quilt is black and white would I use black thread in the bobbin?

Jim's Gem 02-07-2010 05:13 PM