Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   It's hard to take that first step.... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/its-hard-take-first-step-t203011.html)

Stitch124 10-12-2012 04:41 AM

It's hard to take that first step....

:shock:I'm a newbie to quilting but not to sewing. I took a beginner quilting course and made a wall hanging. Now I have two quilt kits just waiting for me to start cutting........but I can't get myself to the point to know where to start, which one to do first....where to start, etc. I don't have a dedicated place to set up my sewing....kitchen table is it. Also, my g/kids would want to 'help' and I get easily distracted and afraid to make the wrong cuts. One quilt is Terry Atkinson - Yellow Brick Road' and the other is 'Footsteps in the Sand'....both are beginner's quilts. Don't know which one to start on first. I enjoyed so much the interaction with others at the class but now I'm on my own with nobody to bounce my questions off of right there at the moment. I feel frozen......but excited....to get started. But why can't I get moving .....???

HillCountryGal 10-12-2012 04:46 AM

Like anything new to us, it's hard to jump right in... still, you know you're going to have fun so close your eyes, pick one and get started. You can do it! There will always be something to get in the way, just ignore that. :thumbup:

erstan947 10-12-2012 04:49 AM

When I get in this mind set....I tell myself "This is not brain surgery. It is just fabric!" It wont' get done unless you begin. There is no perfect time so just do it. You will be happy when you get past that first cut:) Be sure to show us your finished project. You can do it!! Happy Stitches:thumbup:

Jingle 10-12-2012 05:43 AM

Start with the yellow brick road, it sounds and looks easy. Just put on your big girl panties and just get going.

Quiltngolfer 10-12-2012 06:11 AM