Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Janome won't sew backwards in Free Motion (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/janome-wont-sew-backwards-free-motion-t75169.html)

Illsa 11-08-2010 03:51 PM

Perfect stitches going forward or sideways but backward it skips stitches. I changed the needle, adjusted the tension, and oiled.
What else???????????????? Illsa

MadQuilter 11-08-2010 04:05 PM

I'm confused. You did say Free Motion, which means that you control the stitches. Free motion is not really directional because you control that too. Did you drop (or cover) the feed dogs? Is your motion possibly jerky and the stitch size is noticeably different? Maybe you are changing direction too abruptly??? I just started learning FMQ and it is hard to get consistent stitch quality.

amma 11-08-2010 04:55 PM

I have more difficulty going backwards than side to side or forward.
I have noticed that it is because I can't see where I am going, causing me to move the quilt with a jerkier and more inconsistent motion...
Maybe try again, and see if it feels less comfortable for you too?
I have moved around my machine to get around this. Leave the quilt in the machine, needle down. Move to the side of the machine and continue so you are now sewing to the side instead of going back wards, if that makes sense?

sewingladydi 11-08-2010 05:07 PM

I think MadQuilter is right. Your machine doesn't know which way you are moving your quilt, your machine is just going up & down. Forward, backward, right or left is controlled by you moving the quilt.

watterstide 11-08-2010 05:44 PM

Originally Posted by amma
I have more difficulty going backwards than side to side or forward.
I have noticed that it is because I can't see where I am going, causing me to move the quilt with a jerkier and more inconsistent motion...
Maybe try again, and see if it feels less comfortable for you too?