Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Lightweight Batting Alternative? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/lightweight-batting-alternative-t204685.html)

Dreamflowerlillin 10-30-2012 05:08 PM

Lightweight Batting Alternative?

Hello All!

I'm very new to quilting here, so I am sorry if I don't know the correct term for what I am looking for.
What would you all suggest for me to use for an extremely lightweight quilt? I am contemplating what sort of batting or backing I would use for someone who overheats in the winter using only a bed sheet or light weight blanket at night. Ha. Tall order, I know.

I have read that I could always use a very thin fleece throw as batting. Is this advisable?

Quiltngolfer 10-30-2012 05:12 PM

I like Quilters Dream Request batting for very thin quilts. I think it is the thinnest batting you can buy.

Peckish 10-30-2012 05:17 PM

You could either use no batting at all, just quilt a backing onto your top. Or you could use a flannel sheet or some flannel fabric.

QuiltE 10-30-2012 05:37 PM

Fleece and polytester batts would be very warm, as they do not breathe.

A cotton batt would breathe, so would not provide the same heat factor.

I've used flannelette as a batt ... breathes and provides some warmth, but not a lot.

Silver Needle 10-30-2012 06:17 PM

Quilter's Dream Request is only recommended for hand quilting. Their Select is a nice weight for a 100% cotton batting. My favorite is Dream Orient, it has bamboo, silk, botanic tensile, and cotton. This is a very snuggly but lightweight batting. www.quiltersdreambatting.com to read more about them.

Scissor Queen 10-30-2012 07:03 PM

Originally Posted by Dreamflowerlillin (Post 5624428)
Hello All!

I'm very new to quilting here, so I am sorry if I don't know the correct term for what I am looking for.