Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Lining up blocks (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/lining-up-blocks-t1770.html)

NewsletterBot 08-07-2007 08:41 PM

I am new at quilting and pretty much stick to squares and rectangles. I have a hard time lining up my blocks so that all the corners meet. Any tricks?

Thank you,
Alli

zyxquilts 08-07-2007 10:24 PM

Hi Alli,
When you are pressing the seams that are going to meet, if you press so the seam that will be on the bottom comes toward you & the one on the top goes away from you, as it goes under the presser foot it will 'nestle' together and the corners be pushed together & match up! I also use a "3 pin" method sometimes - first put one pin straight down thru the seams, making sure it goes straight thru, and that the seams are lined up, then place another pin on each side, quite close to the seam - then take out that first pin.
Hope that helps...

bsquilter 08-08-2007 03:53 AM

Clover makes a U shaped pin. Squish seams around until they are butting together then pin in with one prong on each side of seam.
Thess pins have made my blocks look perfect without ripping.
BS Quilter

Norah 08-08-2007 08:07 AM

I have trouble making my seams line up too. When they are off some, one has to resew ( another cuss word) the block, or ease the larger block into the other, matching the seams inside the block. It really helps to make sure your seams are consistent, mark the points where anything is supposed to meet before you sew it together, and make sure they match when you get through. Also measure your finished blocks before joining.
I am going to try both of the methods mentioned above and I am looking for those pins next trip to town.

Steve 08-08-2007 08:26 AM