Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Long Arm Questions (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/long-arm-questions-t88606.html)

Carol Carter 01-08-2011 05:00 AM

Where is the best place to purchase supplies on line like threads, templates, quilting pantograms?

Is it better to start learning to FMQ or to quilt with some pantograms first? I am pretty good at stippling but have not done much other than that on a gracie frame and a bailey machine. I am going to purchase a LA and I want to learn to do more. I have never quilted using a pantogram.

If there is any interest in purchasing my gracie frame and Bailey machine, let me know.

Thanks for your help.

feline fanatic 01-08-2011 06:09 AM

I am new at LA too but will try to offer some suggestions on your questions. I have found Pantos are priced the same across the board with very little pricing difference no matter where you buy. They all seem to be between $17 and $20. Thread is also very compartitively priced. I have only seen a few dollar variation on the big spools. The few places I have ordered on line I have been satisfied with the service.

I have a few pantos but have not yet used them. I like to practice FMQ by making a sandwich of a yard of inexpensive solid colored fabric. Solid so I can better see the stitches. I will put different color thread in bobbin from top so I can easily spot tension issues and like to use a high contrast thread from the practice sandwich, again so I can really see what is happening. Then I just doodle away. I look through books to get ideas for motifs. I like doing stencils then freehand echos around them. I doodle with pencil and paper ALOT to get that muscle memory thing going.

kbeuchert 01-08-2011 06:21 AM