Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   machine quilting on Grace frame (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/machine-quilting-grace-frame-t3213.html)

newbie in CA 11-18-2007 10:39 AM

Hello Everyone!

I'm new to machine quilting. My father has decided to spring a Grace Frame (GMQ Pro) with Sure Stitch on my mom for Christmas. I'm trying to learn all I can about these products and am very eager for help. I don't know anyone that uses a frame for machine quilting or the Sure Stitch. The instructions for both show how to set both systems up, but after that you are on your own!

I'd appreciate any advice on books, videos, personal usage, tips, you name it
I'm very eager to learn!

I'm especially curious about how the fabric leaders attach to the quilt. Is it better to pin or baste? It seems like you would quilt right over that end of the leader while you are quilting the "sandwich" together. Does the muslin get torn off after it is stitched over?

Any help is greatly appreciated

zyxquilts 11-18-2007 10:50 AM

I took a long-arm quilting class, and we just used BIG straight pins to attach the quilt backing to the leaders. I don't think we really came close to the leaders when we quilted because the backing needed to be about 3" larger, on all sides, than the quilt top. You might check around to see if one of your local quilt shops has a class, or maybe one of the local long-arm quilters could teach you. :D

2 Doods 11-18-2007 02:04 PM

I bought a grace frame and you are correct about the instructions. They are very limited. I use straight pins and leave extra fabric like zyxquilts suggested. There are classes at shops that carry the frame. I have not had one yet but the lady I bought the frame from said it was very helpful. I need to find a place that has one. I have done 3 quilts so far on it just by making it up.

Yvonne 11-18-2007 02:15 PM